Back to forum

Accompanient to Jujitsu

Author Comments

Samurai Tedrik

5 posts

Tuesday 19th April 2005 at 15:31

Hi all

I'm currently studying TJJ and enjoying it very much! BUT, I used to study karate and i don't think that jujitsu (whether it's my class or jujitsu in general) covers enough striking/kicking.

I don't know whether to start up karate again alongside this or try out Wing Chun, i've been looking into it and Wing chun looks interesting with the hand conditioning and wooden dummy training...

I know it's mixing japanese and chinese arts but who cares. They all have their benefits. What do you guys think?

Yours in Budo

alski

Regular

73 posts

Tuesday 19th April 2005 at 16:07

have you thought about Thai or kickboxing?

Samurai Tedrik

5 posts

Tuesday 19th April 2005 at 16:26

Hey,

Yeah i thought about Muay Thai. But i'm not really a big guy and i'm not into pumelling eachothers brains out. I like technical actions and movements.

Yours in Budo

alski

Regular

73 posts

Tuesday 19th April 2005 at 17:02

crazy fool i aint gettin on no plane!
I'm not a big fella either,the lads on this forum seem to prefer thai/kickboxing.I'm gonna start hopfully in a couple of weeks.Got my first session of tjj tomorow nite after a break of three months :-D

Samurai Tedrik

5 posts

Tuesday 19th April 2005 at 17:21

You're going to start Muay Thai? I really don't think i could handle it. I'd get too mad when i get hit and bang a wristlock on them!

LOL

Yours in Budo

Robsco

1319 posts

Wednesday 20th April 2005 at 02:06

Firstly welcome to the site, always good to see new people posting instead of just viewing. :-)

As for your comments about TJJ, yeah there's not as much striking as in, say Karate, but when you're in a 'situation' you don't have time for the pretty kata's. Atleast TJJ is aimed more at practical self-defence.