Back to forum

"kicking while on the ground"

Author Comments

budoman

12 posts

Wednesday 14th September 2005 at 19:44

I have been traing in many different martial arts for about 4 years. I have trained in everything from taekwondo to jujitsu.I have never posted here but have read the forum several times.

2 days ago i got into my first fight since i have been training. This guy through a break shoe through my car window at me. I got out of the car and struck him with a straight right to the jaw. He went right down. As I was getting back in my car he got up and through another one at me. I went up to him and did a five punch combo, "most punches didnt have much on them", and then did a judo throw and took this guy down. While he was trying to get up, "kind of like in a push-up stance", I kicked him in the head and ended the situation.

I was telling my friend who is a ex-cop and he told me that you cant do that. He said you cant kick someone while they're down. I thought there were know rules to a fight anyway, specially when a guys throwing metal objects at you.I would like to hear what other people have to say about my choices i made and if they would do the same. thanks

budoman

12 posts

Wednesday 14th September 2005 at 19:59

I would love to hear from instuctors and law enforment people but i do want to hear everybodys opinion.

andy

Resident

729 posts

Wednesday 14th September 2005 at 21:34

'reasonable force' is the key, if you believed you were still in danger and that kicking him was your only option then it is better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6.

"no weapon formed against me shall prosper"

budoman

12 posts

Wednesday 14th September 2005 at 22:28

Thank you.

Robsco

1319 posts

Thursday 15th September 2005 at 12:38

If he got up once and tried again, then you may have thought he'd get up again and try it, so I would say you was using reasonable force.