Back to forum

judo...

Author Comments

guitargod0902

10 posts

Tuesday 9th May 2006 at 02:48

Hello, I'm new to bjj as of a month ago and new to the site as of a week ago. Although i go 6 days a week 3 hours a night I would like to start off by saying i don't have much knowledge on the subject of bjj so as to avoid any possible mudslinging my way.

my question: it is my impression that judo seems to focus plenty on take downs and not a whole lot of groundwork. Now wouldn't this be exactly what a bjj expert(or novice) would essentially want so as to get the judo opponent into submission?
Plz feel free to correct me if I'm wrong about this but wouldn't using judo against a bjj'er work against himself?

When life gives you lemonades

sl

Resident

855 posts

Tuesday 9th May 2006 at 10:44

thats some serious training!

I personally think it would but i think it depends on the judo school and how they train subs on the ground.:-D

Robsco

1319 posts

Tuesday 9th May 2006 at 12:34

Like Sl says, if it's a standard Judo club, with, as you say, pure takedowns and not much submission, then it's not really a match anyway. Even if the Judo guy gets the BJJ player down, the rest of the fight will most probably go in the BJJ'ers favour.

The Admin Guy

sl

Resident

855 posts

Tuesday 9th May 2006 at 13:04

i still need to find a judo club!

Did you go seni robsco?

Robsco

1319 posts

Tuesday 9th May 2006 at 18:14

Fraid not, got an abses under my wisdom tooth and my face swelled up pretty bad on Sunday morning.

I currently look like a hamster. :-|

The Admin Guy

sl

Resident

855 posts

Wednesday 10th May 2006 at 11:42

Nasty i went didn't compete (long story) couldnt believe the amount of competitors for the invitational, seen Chuck Liddell and master sken! :-p

spider

Regular

235 posts

Saturday 27th May 2006 at 15:46