Back to forum

Your opinions

Author Comments

Lyndsey

10 posts

Tuesday 7th November 2006 at 22:26

Right, I'm 20 and I'm a shodan mon, with one gold tab, which i got when i was 14, after which I got a bad injury and with other things decided to quit,.. I ended up having a four year gap, starting training again earlier this year.

Well when I started training again I was told I would keep the grade I was, do revision for a while and then start training for my shodan,.. which I did.

Then yesterday I get told I have two choices,.. I can either
A) continue with my gold tabs, of which there are 10 and i have one, or
B) do the senior sylabus being graded for each belt

What I don't get is why the sudden change in what my Sensai wants me to do,.. I know I've had a big gap in my training but I've been training again since March (so 8months) and missed at least 2 gradings,.. so why the sidden change????

I'm quite happy to revise every belt, but why do I have to pay for being graded on something I already know, I know some of the moves are slightly different but not drastically. Yesterday I went over the white and yellow belt sylabusses and knew them off by heart, today i went over some of the orange belt, helping a shodan teach it to a yellow belt,.. i realy dont get why i have to be graded on all the belts again at senior level,.. why cant i just do my shodan,.. to make it worse there are two others doing exactly that, yet one other who started after me doing what ive now been told i have to do,.. but he did it straight away so is already onto senior yellow.

Sorry for the rant just miffed,.. what do you lot reckon???? fair or not?

Robsco

1319 posts

Wednesday 8th November 2006 at 22:22

How much are you being charged???

Charging extra for a grading really doesn't sound right to me no matter what.

The Admin Guy

sl

Resident

855 posts

Saturday 11th November 2006 at 09:43