Back to forum

your 1st tournament

Author Comments

guitargod0902

10 posts

Monday 12th February 2007 at 00:29

Hey I had my 1st no gi brazilian jiu jitsu tournamtnt today and ima lil bummed. Ive been training in bjj for about 9 months or so. I won my 1st match to via armbar. unfortunately the guy was a cardio freak and stalled the whole time by cranking my neck. I ended up expelling alot of energy. almost all my energy in fact. didn't mean to, but it was all i could do. Then i lost to my seceond opponent i should have easilly beat but outt weighed me and out muscled me by stalling also. This time i was on reserves and after this i had literally nothing. I lost my 3rd match due to a triangle choke, mind im as good as this kid but he was smaller so had i had energy, my strength would have been a factor. I was so frustrated by getting 4th place as i was far better than anyone else and had i not been paired up with the muscle head i woulda been fine. i train like a mad dog and i am considered the best white belt in my gyma and better than the majority of blue belts. so to lose in such a fashion was so infuriating, almost like a matt hughes bj penn 2 to give an idea. Pretty discouraged but im gonna keep training. Mybe i take bjj too seriously and shouldn't make anything of it. watdya guys think?

So my question is how did u guys do on ur 1st tourny? anything similar?

When life gives you lemonades

Robsco

1319 posts

Monday 12th February 2007 at 22:16

Well it's good that you don't get discouraged too easily.

Sounds like you met every kind of opponent in one tourny, and lucky you, now you've got a good idea of what to look for in future tourny's.

No-one's perfect and you're always likely to come up against some giant who simply doesn't move, perhaps that's their game-plan, and something you need to work against.