Back to forum

Newbie.... few questions

Author Comments

JayUK26

Spectator

7 posts

Tuesday 24th July 2007 at 18:15

Hi, excellent forum you have here!

So, as mentioned in the title I am completely new to Ju jitsu. I have been looking around for a martial arts club in my local area for some time but never really got round to pin-pointing a style I wanted to pursue. I have just quit smoking and I thought that now would be a good time to look into it more seriously.
Anyway, I have found two traditional jujitsu clubs and I am now keen to go along and get started, I'm actually very excited. I thought that before I went along I would ask a few questions on this forum that have been playing on my mind.....

what is the basic difference between tradional and other forms of jujitsu?

Is there a good book or DVD that you can recommend for beginners of Jujitsu?

and.....

A problem that I have been worrying about....... I have recently been on holiday and I have managed to pick up a couple of Veruccas! Not too happy about it as I'm eager to join up! I realise that training will involve me being barefoot, which is probably the norm? What would you suggest in my situation? What do others do that have got Veruccas? I was thinking of wearing a sock or something but I'm not sure if Id be allowed in a Dojo? Perhaps I should just wait until they have been treated and then start?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Robsco

1319 posts

Wednesday 25th July 2007 at 00:13

Hey Jay,

Welcome to the site, and the forum, it's always good to get a new poster!

First of all, let's deal with the Veruccas... get em dealed with first. I can't see that taking too long, maybe a week?

If you're that keen, give the club(s) a call and see it they'd be okay with a sock, does no harm to ask.

It's good to see you'd think about wearing a sock (god knows how many people don't and don't worry about it).